Legally, and barring certain age restrictions, you are allowed to drive in California with a valid out-of-state license if you are not a California resident. In fact, you are even allowed to drive with a valid license form a foreign country without having to get a permit as long as you are over 18-years-old and your foreign license is valid. If you received a traffic citation for driving with an out-of-state license, give the Los Angeles traffic ticket attorneys at Fight My Ticket a call today for a free consultation. Fill out the form or call us at 1-800-655-7505.
Is It Legal To Drive With An Out-Of-State License In California?
Driving between states is not unusual and under California law, Vehicle Code 12502, you can legally drive with a license from a different state as long as you are over 18-years-old and you have a valid license in the state in which you reside, and as long as the license is appropriate for the vehicle that you’re driving.
But, if you are a California resident, you must have a California driver’s license within 10 days of becoming a resident; otherwise you risk getting a ticket because your out-of-state license is no longer valid.
You may be wondering what it means to be a California resident. California Vehicle Code 12505 explains that you are a resident of the state where you are domiciled. Domiciled means “where a person has his or her true, fixed, and permanent home and principal residence and to which he or she has manifested the intention of returning whenever he or she is absent.”
You can also be considered a California resident if you move to California and intend to stay. Legally you are considered a California resident if you:
- Are registered to vote in California
- Filed a homeowner’s property tax exemption
- Pay resident tuition at a public institution of higher education
- Receive any other California resident privilege
What If I’m Moving To California?
If you are planning to move to California, become a resident and be able to legally drive, then you must obtain a California driver’s license from the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of becoming a resident. If you are planning to drive for work, such as with Lyft or Uber or in any other driving capacity, then you must obtain a California driver’s license right away. If you don’t apply for a license within that time frame, you can be charged with “Driving Without A License” under Vehicle Code 12500.
Contact A Los Angeles Traffic Ticket Attorney
If you happen to be driving in California and get pulled over for a traffic citation and are then given a ticket for having an out-of-state driver’s license, you can fight to get your ticket dismissed. If you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license then you may have a good defense for getting your ticket dismissed. Speak to our traffic attorneys today to see if you can avoid having to pay your citation and avoid wasting time going to court.
If you received a traffic citation for driving with an out-of-state license, contact the Los Angeles traffic ticket attorneys at Fight My Ticket today for a free consultation. Fill out the form or call us today at 1-800-655-7505.